How Much Does a Car Accident Lawyer Cost in Virginia

In Virginia, leaving the scene of an accident, often referred to as “hit and run”, is a serious criminal offense that typically arises out of the failure to stop, render aid and provide identifying information.  Despite the reason for the mischance, Virginia law commands certain moves be made, and don’t believe being a traveler implies you don’t need to do anything. Virginia law forces obligations on the two drivers and travelers.

Both the obligations and punishments for leaving the scene of a mishap/attempt at manslaughter shift contingent on whether you were a driver or a traveler, regardless of whether the mischance includes a visited or unattended vehicle, and whether the mischance includes just property harm of a specific sum or likewise includes damage or passing. Contingent on your conditions, your attempt at manslaughter might be charged as a crime or lawful offense and the disciplines can incorporate impositon of a fine, detainment and a suspension of the permit/benefit to drive.

Hit & Run Driver

Offense Class Attended or Unattended
Vehicle or Property
 Property Damage/Injury
Class 5 Felony Attended Injury, death, or
> $1,000 property damage
Class 1 Misdemeanor Attended  $1,000 Property Damage
Class 1 Misdemeanor Unattended  $250 Property Damage
Class 4 Misdemeanor Unattended < $250 Property Damage

Hit & Run Passenger

Offense Class Attended or Unattended
Vehicle or Property
 Property Damage/Injury
Class 6 Felony Attended Injury or death
Class 1 Misdemeanor Attended Property Damage
Class 1 Misdemeanor Unattended  $250 Property Damage
Class 4 Misdemeanor Unattended < $250 Property Damage

Accounting to Virginia Code 46.2-894, if you hit an attended vehicle or other attended property, as the driver, you must:

  1. Immediately stop as near the scene as conceivable without deterring activity;
  2. Report your name, address, driver’s permit number, and vehicle enlistment number quickly to the State Police or neighborhood law authorization organization, the individual injuried (if equipped for comprehension and holding the data), the driver or some other tenant of the vehicle crashed into or the overseer of the harmed property.
  3. Render sensible help to any individual harmed in the mischance, including taking the harmed individual to doctor, specialist or clinic, in the event that it shows up therapeutically fundamental or is asked for by the harmed individual.

On the off chance that your wounds anticipate consistence with the above necessities, you should, when is sensibly conceivable, make the expected answer to police and find the driver, some other tenant or the overseer of such harmed vehicle, and report your name, address, driver’s permit number, and vehicle enlistment number. Whenever sentenced, areas may look for reimbursement of costs caused by reacting law requirement, firefighting, protect and crisis administrations.